Music Symphony

Tune In To The Music Of My Life…

Dishwalla

Posted by imogen on March 13, 2007

dishwalla.jpgDishwalla is an alternative rock band from Santa Barbara, California. Members include Jim Wood (keyboards), Rodney Browning Cravens (lead guitar), J.R. Richards (vocals, guitar, and keyboards), Pete Maloney (drums), and Scot Alexander (bass, Juno 60). So why the name Dishwalla, you might ask? The band’s name comes from an Indian term for a person who uses illegal equipment to descramble a television satellite signal and share it with their neighborhood. Go figure.

Anyway, I’ve only really found out about this band when I was in college. My friend introduced their music to me, and guess what, I loved it! Well, actually, I can’t really say I love ALL of their songs. I’ve only listened to their Opaline album, and there’s probably only 4 songs that I really like in it. But these songs are really good, that I had to place them in here. I remember playing these songs over and over, to the point that when I hear them back now, they pretty much remind me of my college days. Oh well, I guess music does that to you. Especially, if you play them one too many times. Listen to these songs and find out why I like them so much…

1) Candleburn – I love this song. Listen to the piano. I love the smooth, soulful, almost haunting melody it plays. I’m not really sure what the lyrics mean though. In my opinion, this is about a girl who has been burned (figuratively speaking of course). Waiting… exhausted with life… with love (I may be wrong of course), but it’s really nice.

2) Angels Or Devils – This is a cool song. I love singing along with this. The first time I heard it, I thought it had a great melody. Great vocals too. It’s got a good beat, and the message of the song is really nice too. It tells of the angels and devils in each and every one of us. We all have good and bad sides to our personalities, and I guess that’s what the song is trying to capture. Which voice is stronger, which are we predisposed to, angels or devils? Take your pick.g70393dwslv.jpg

3) Every Little Thing – The words in the lyrics, “wish i could be, every little thing you wanted” could potentially strike a lot of chords in people’s hearts, and I’m pretty sure, in one way or another, you might have experienced falling in love and wanting to say the exact same words to a special someone. Right? Well, even if you haven’t and you can’t relate to the song, it still doesn’t matter, coz the melody of the song is really catchy. Kind of acoustic and country and alternative rolled into one. It’s great.

4) Home – I love this song too, it has a certain warmth in it, and kind of sentimental sound to it. Probably because the title itself, “Home” gives me that nostalgic feeling. I don’t know, but anyway, the songs speaks about this big trial we call life, and how sometimes we get so overwhelmed by problems that all we wanna do is surrender and come home. Even for just a little while. The message is really touching actually. Sometimes, just because a song is alternative, the tendency is to overlook the lyrics, and we neglect to really understand the meaning of the song. J.R.’s vocals are awesome as always by the way, and it fits perfectly in this song. Nice.

6 Responses to “Dishwalla”

  1. caitlin said

    Being that I have done a lot of work in analyzing of writing, I get a entire different feel from the Dishwalla’s “Candleburn”. Here is my analytic view. Here are the lyrics my interpretation of the song is after the lyrics.

    on Vineland past the candle shrine that burns on every night
    for someone
    she lets herself go
    like an angel in the snow
    she lays down on her back
    and down on her back – she goes

    take me over when I’m gone
    take me over make me strong
    take me over when I’m gone
    will they burn for me

    on Vineland past the candle shrine that melts into the street design
    she waits – for someone
    tonight she’ll give herself away
    she’ll break apart all by herself
    its so easy how we come undone

    take me over when I’m gone
    take me over make me strong
    take me over when I’m gone
    will they burn for me

    she pulls me in and strips me down
    she pulls me in and turns me out
    she pulls me in and strips me down
    to the ground

    on Vineland past the candle shrine that melts into the street design
    she waits
    tonight she’ll give herself away
    she’ll break apart all by herself
    its so easy how we come undone

    take me over when I’m gone
    take me over make me strong
    take me over when I’m gone
    will they burn for me

    take me over when I’m gone
    take me over make me strong
    take me over when I’m gone
    will they burn
    will they burn for me(4x’s)

    I get from this that a female goes to this shrine that happens to be around christmas time and it’s for Jesus at a church and she lays in the snow asking for his forgiveness and that when she dies he’ll take her in and those same candles will burn for her. Just after that on the same street she waits for someone to pick her up. Seemingly that she may be a prostitute. The song says how she strips him down and such. After she does this she goes back to the same shrine and asks again for forgiveness from Jesus.

    And that is my analytic view….hope it makes sense.

  2. imogen said

    hi caitlin! yes, you’re analytic view does make sense. :) thanks for sharing!

  3. lily said

    i always thought that they wrote it about the girl that he loved dying and the stripping and everything were just figures of speech about how she understood him on a really deep level. but i think your point of view makes sense too. i love this song though it is beautiful

  4. john aspen said

    yeah i agree. i lvoe most dishwalla songs. home is my most favorite. candleburn is great too.

  5. Daniel Oporto said

    Hey… it is such a great band… too bad they’re on hiatus right now… The best song from Opaline, for me, is “when morning comes”… it has such profound lyrics… and it’s perfectly mixed with strong bass and drums.. JR Richards’ voice never fails…

    Wish they come to Peru someday…

  6. Daniel Oporto said

    Hey… also forgot… there are also three other studio albums… “Pet your friends” (1995), “And you think you know what life’s about” (1998) and self-tittled “Dishwalla”… I recoommend you to listen “Once in a while” is their best rock-ballad, “Healing star”, “5 star day” (all from their second album)

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

