Music Symphony

Tune In To The Music Of My Life…

Christopher Cross

Posted by imogen on March 10, 2007

arte.jpgChristopher Cross is an Oscar-winning, Golden Globe-winning, and five-time Grammy-winning American singer and songwriter. He is, along with Norah Jones, the only artist to receive all of the “Big Four” Grammy Awards (Best Record, Song, Album, and New Artist) in the same year. He’s actually one of my favorite singers. He’s got a really good voice, and I love the way he sings. His voice is soothing, deeply relaxing, and has a country-like quality that’s great to listen to. His music for me, is timeless. I get goosebumps whenever I listen to him. Click on the titles to listen to his tracks that I like best:

1) Sailing – definitely my favorite Christopher Cross song. This was featured in his 1979 self-titled debut album and has won 3 Grammy awards for Record of the Year, Song of the Year and Best Arrangement. Imagine that! I just love this song. I guess I could say that I only started REALLY liking this song when my “once” favorite local band sang it, but it totally made me realize what a great song Sailing really is. It has such a beautiful and relaxing melody. I love hearing this played on the piano. I haven’t really pondered on the lyrics to analyze its deeper meaning yet, but I guess the title speaks for itself.

2) Swept Away – love this song too! It’s so melodic, I feel like I’m being swept off my feet when I listen to it. I love the arrangement, and it’s great to sing along with. And the message of the song is so nice. It describes love, and how the magic can really literally catch you by surprise and sweep you off your feet. It’s warmly romantic, with a sort of slow melancholic, kind of nostalgic thing going on that leaves you feeling peaceful and elated. I can’t quite put my finger on it, actually. I just really feel good listening to it. The music is fantastically done, the lyrics wonderfully written. It’s really a beautiful, soothing love song. Check out the video of his live acoustic performance. So relaxing.1269_con_christopher-cross-2.jpg

3) Think Of Laura – this song is a tribute to the memory of his friend who died in a car accident and was made popular when it was used in the soap opera General Hospital. The song is really heartwarming, and Christopher’s smooth, sighing vocals is perfect to portray the message of the song. It’s really a wonderful soothing ballad, love the acoustics too.

4) Arthur’s Theme (Best That You Can Do) – this is the theme song from the 1981 film Arthur starring Dudley Moore and Liza Minnell. It’s just a song about falling in love, and I’m not really that crazy about it than the first three I listed here, but it’s a good song nevertheless, and it does leave the listener feeling good. It’s one of his songs that has a really good melody and is easy to remember. I only got the live version on audio clip though. The song won the 1981 Academy Award for Best Original Song.

One Response to “Christopher Cross”

  1. melanie said

    i love christopher cross so much! i enjoy listening to his songs (i will (take you forever), swept away, is there something, think of laura, arthur’s theme, never be the same and many more)…..

Leave a Reply

 
